HICAP is pleased to announce that Anil Thadani, Chairman of Symphony Asia, will be awarded the HICAP Lifetime Achievement Award. Mr. Thadani will be presented with the award at the 29th annual HICAP being held 17-19 October 2018 at The Kerry Hotel Hong Kong.

The HICAP Lifetime Achievement Award honors exceptional individuals who have distinguished themselves through their accomplishments and contributions to expanding, enhancing and advancing the hotel industry in the Asia Pacific region and the world.

Anil Thadani is based in Singapore and is the Chairman of Symphony Asia. He has worked in the Asia-Pacific region since 1975 and been involved in Asian private equity since 1981 when he co-founded one of the first private equity investment companies in Asia. During his 37-year investment career he has been an active investor in the hospitality industry. He partnered with Regent Hotels in the acquisitions of The Dorchester Hotel in London and the Peninsula in Bangkok in the 1980’s and then went on to co-found Amanresorts in 1987. He was also a “founding investor” with Bill Heinecke in what grew to be Minor International, one of Asia’s leading hospitality & food companies.

Prior to 1981, he was a research engineer with Chevron Chemical in California & worked for Bank of America in the US, Japan, the Philippines and Hong Kong. He has served on the boards of several companies in Asia, Europe, and North America, and was a Trustee of Singapore Management University (“SMU”) for 13 years and Chairman of the SMU Institute of Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Mr. Thadani has a Bachelors in Chemical Engineering from the Indian IIT, Madras, an MS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin, and an MBA from the University of California, Berkeley.

Adding to its special nature, the Award is not given out every year and prior recipients of the HICAP Lifetime Achievement Award include: Larry M.K. Tchou, Senior Advisor – Greater China for Hyatt Hotels & Resorts; William Heinecke, Founder & Chairman, Minor Group; Kwek Leng Beng, Executive Chairman, Hong Leong Group of Companies; Marilyn Carlson Nelson, Chairman, Carlson; The Honorable Sir Michael Kadoorie, Chairman, The Hongkong & Shanghai Hotels, Limited; Stephen F. Bollenbach, Co-Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Hilton Hotels Corporation; Kurt J. Wachtveitl, General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, Thailand; P.R.S. Oberoi, Chairman & CEO, Oberoi Hotels & Resorts; and Paul Dubrule, Co-Chairman and Founder, Accor.

For additional information on HICAP or the Lifetime Achievement Award, visit the website at www.HICAPconference.com.