The Hotelier Awards, an annual prestigious hospitality excellence award, is pleased to announce the 87 finalists for 2018 Asia competition. The only award platform of its kind in Asia, it recognises individuals’ professional excellence across the hospitality sector.

For the first time since its launch five years ago, The Hotelier Awards is hosting two separate competitions, one for Asia and one for Greater China. Applications for the Asia competition were accepted from the beginning of January 2018 and closed with a 117% increase in the number of entries from over 107 properties. Applications for Greater China opened from the 12th March and finalists will be announced on the 16th July 2018.

Five finalists from 16 categories and eight General Manager finalists for Asia were announced yesterday evening in an intimate ceremony held at the Park Hyatt Bangkok. The hoteliers were carefully selected by a panel of expert judges, who flew in from around the world to finalise their selection. The judging panel this year includes Alison Gilmore, Portfolio Director of International Luxury Travel Market (ILTM), Michel Lamunière, Chairman & CEO, Edipresse Asia, Christophe Laurent, Values Ambassador of Ecole Hôtelière De Lausanne (EHL), Jenny Soo, Head of Workplace Experience APAC, Jones Lang LaSalle Property Consultants Pte and Christine Gamarra, Senior Operations Lead for LRA by Deloitte.


  • Nopparat Aumpa, Area VP/General Manager- Banyan Tree Bangkok
  • Hemal Jain, General Manager- Alila Ubud
  • Tarun Kalra, General Manager- The Warehouse Hotel
  • Pascal Caubo, General Manager- Intercontinental Bandung Dago Pakar
  • Justin Malcolm, General Manager- Le Meridien Saigon
  • Matthew Cooper, General Manager- JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square
  • Dottie Wurgler Cronin, General Manager- Marco Polo Davao
  • Carlos Monterde, General Manager- Fairmont Jakarta


  • Maurizio Bombini, Executive Chef- Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
  • Azizskandar Awang, Executive Chef- Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
  • Twedi Martatna, Executive Chef- Sheraton Grand Jakarta Gandaria City Hotel
  • Robert Stirrup, Director of Culinary Operations- Fairmont Singapore & Swissôtel The Stamford
  • Min Kyu Kim, Executive Sous Chef- Park Hyatt Seoul


  • Prakash C. Raman, Chief Concierge- Shangri-La’s Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa Singapore
  • Robert Viana, Executive Floor Butler- Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
  • Theerasak Kumwong, Chief of Concierge- Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
  • Marcelo Ripa III, Chief Concierge- Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
  • Eddy Tan, Director of Guest Relations- Swissôtel The Stamford


  • Nicholas Lee, Chief Engineer- Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
  • Jeffrey Adlawan, Chief Engineer- Marco Polo Davao
  • Imron Rosyadi, Director of Engineering- Sheraton Grand Jakarta Gandaria City Hotel
  • Eric Enriquez, Chief Engineer- Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
  • Octavianus Mugang, Chief Engineer- Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa


  • Peter Toi Huat Heng, Director of Finance- Conrad Centennial Singapore
  • Toh Mui Lay, Financial Controller- Fairmont Singapore & Swissotel The Stamford
  • Shirley Sinlao, Director of Finance- Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
  • Chin Yoke Soo, Finance Manager- Hilton Singapore
  • Hew Lee Yin, Director of Finance & Business Support- Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore


  • Anuj Sharma, Director of Operations- Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
  • Joseph Park, Director of Operations- Courtyard By Marriott Seoul Namdaemun
  • Ngakan Made Artana Yasa, Dava Restaurant Manager- Ayana Resort And Spa, Bali
  • Joern Schwaiger, Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage- Fairmont Singapore
    & Swissôtel The Stamford
  • Benjaporn Wongsomboon, Assistant Director of Food & Beverage- The St. Regis Bangkok


  • Ni Nyoman Rekayanti, Director of Rooms- Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
  • Sarmeith Ploak, Assistant Front Office Manager- Raffles Grand Hotel D’Angkor
  • Ni Ketut Yuniarti, Director of Rooms- Rimba Jimbaran Bali by Ayana
  • Khun Sarith, Front Desk Manager- Arunreas Hotel
  • Im Srey Aun, Front Office Supervisor- Amansara


  • Erlangga Farizky, Director of Operations- Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
  • Robert Conte, Hotel Manager- Le Meridien Saigon
  • Kristanti Tannady, Hotel Manager- Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort
  • Koy Kol, Hotel Manager- Jaya House River Park
  • I Gede Sujana, Hotel Manager- Sheraton Grand Jakarta Gandaria City Hotel

View the full list of finalists for The Hotelier Awards Asia 2018 on the website at

All winners for the Asia Award will be announced and celebrated during a lavish awards ceremony at the Sofitel Singapore City Centre on the 23rd May 2018. The prestigious evening will be one that is full of cheer, as light is shone on the winners and industry professionals.

There are various ways for interested parties to be involved with this year’s awards – become a partner, participate in the vendor show or purchase tickets to the award ceremony. For more details, visit